Making IT Happen is an internationally recognized awards program for educators in the field of educational technology integration in K–12 schools. The program identifies and rewards educational technology leaders around the world for their commitment and innovation.

As an affiliate of ISTE, ARKSTE selects a winner and finalists for the statewide Making IT Happen Award.

Making It Happen Award winners will be recognized at the ARKSTE Spring Conference.
Applications for the 2018 ARKSTE Making It Happen Award are now open. Below you will find the 2018 MIH Flyer and Rubric.
Applications will be open until February 9, 2019.
2017 ARKSTE Leadership Award Winner
Oretha Ferguson, Fort Smith School District

Previous recipients of this award include:

2016 – Krissy Cross, Department of Information Systems
2015 – Michael Summers, Director of Technology, Jonesboro School District
2014 – Kendal Wells, Director of Technology, Cabot School District
2013 – Wanda Hall, (retired), Director of Technology, Hot Springs School District
2012 – Susan Gilley, Executive Director of Federal Programs and Instructional Technology, Harrison School District
2011 – Mike Pinkston, Technology Coordinator, Walnut Ridge Public Schools
2010 – Becky Rains, Strategic Funding Program Manager, State E-Rate Coordinator
2009 – Dana Thompson, Arkansas Department of Information Systems
2008 – Bill Beavers, Vilonia School District
2007 – Jim Yeager, Pottsville School District
2006 – Debbie Martin, Department of Information Systems
2005 – Phyllis Simon, Technology Director (retired), Conway Public Schools
2004 – Rick Martin, Network Engineer, Department of Information Systems
2003 – Dr. Cecil McDermott, Director (retired), IMPAC Learning Systems, Inc
2002 – Roy Rowe, Superintendent, (retired) Hot Springs School District
2001 – Curt Norland, (retired), APSCN

In our world of big names, curiously, our true heroes tend to be anonymous. In this life of illusion and quasi-illusion, the person of solid virtues who can be admired for something more substantial than their well-knownness often proves to be the unsung hero: the hard worker at lonely, , unglamorous, unpublicized jobs. The job of helping educate kids, making technology work for teachers, keeping the wheels of learning grinding. This is award is for those who work away day after day, making the world better, one printer at a time.


Nathan Duncan, Network Engineer, Conway Public Schools

2017 Award Winner

Adrienne Schlake, The New School

  • 2017

    • Adrienne Schlake, The New School
  • 2016

    • Tressie Fowler, Danville Public Schools
  • 2015

    • Kathy Hancock, Bentonville Public Schools
  • 2014

    • Terry Freeny, Fort Smith School District
    • Leah Cheek, Bentonville School District – Runner Up
  • 2013

    • Rebeca Core, Harrison School District
    • Leah Cheek, Bentonville School District – Runner Up
  • 2012

    • Anthony Bright
  • 2011

    • Marti Olesen, Harrison School District
    • Tara Seale, Bryant School District – Runner Up
  • 2010

    • Amanda Mirafuentes, Jonesboro School District
    • Matt McGowan, Paragould School – Runner Up
  • 2009

    • Andrea White, Valley View School District
    • Rachel Shankles, Lakeside School District – Runner Up
  • 2008

    • Sara Dickey, Paragould High School
    • Mila Lynne Floro, Eureka Springs High School – Runner Up
  • 2007

    • Jennifer Kimbrell, NLR School District
    • Julie Quast, Hot Springs School District – Runner Up
  • 2006

    • Natalie Tolbert, Mansfield School District
    • Lynn Kelsh, Mountain Home School District – Runner Up

Nominate your favorite EdTech guru